The Value of Tools – Books

What book has changed your life?

Really I would like to hear from you! If a book can change one life, it certainly has the power to change the lives of others.

How does a book change a person’s life? There is oft-used quote: “We don’t know what we don’t know.” The new ideas presented in a ‘life-changing-book’ change our perception and succeed in changing the way we think. Another popular quote is one by Albert Einstein: “We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.”

Over the past few years, I have talked to a number of people who have cited books that have literally changed their lives in a significant manner. Here is a list of several of those books:

Personality Plus by Florence Littauer; Cashflow Quadrant by Robert Kiyosaki (Rich Dad, Poor Dad series); The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman; The Magic of Thinking Big by David Schwarz; How to Win Friends & Influence People by Dale Carnegie.

If spending a few hours reading one of these books could radically change your life, would you read one? Imagine if people would start applying the following principles from Section 2 of How to Win Friends and Influence People into their lives:

SIX WAYS TO MAKE PEOPLE LIKE YOU

Principle 1. Become genuinely interested in other people.

Principle 2. Smile 🙂

Principle 3. Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.

Principle 4. Be a good listener; encourage others to talk about themselves.

Principle 5. Talk in terms of the other person’s interests.

Principle 6. Make the other person feel important – and do it sincerely.

What are your picks?

4 responses to “The Value of Tools – Books

  1. Hey Shel many of the books we’ve read over the last years have had a huge impact on my life and the life of our family. Personality Plus and Five Love Languages are probably the ones. They have taught me what people are all about and that we are not all the same. We shouldn’t treat them the same. Still have lots to learn though!

  2. There are so many books that have impacted my thinking and therefore changed the course of my life, but off the top of my head one that really stood out was “The Psychology of Winning” by Dennis Waitley, which taught me the concept of visualization. If I hadn’t read that book I would never had known the secret of top Olympic athletes who would visualize the outcome they would want before the event and consequently program themselves for success. Obviously I’ve never had to apply this to an Olympic event. However, I have applied it in my life and there have been times where I had to sit down because I realized that what I had just done or accomplished was exactly what I had been visualizing a year before, and sometimes less than a year… Sometimes almost instantly. When something like that happens you get a strange realization that you really can do anything you set your mind to. The trick is, you have to learn to ‘SET’ your mind to what you want, not what you don’t want. I have found through experience the following quote to be true: “In life you don’t get what you want, you don’t even get what you deserve… In life you get what you expect.” What are you expecting?

  3. Carlyle Sholter

    Five Love Languages absolutely changed the way I think about my wife and family. I made me find my Love language and why I used to get so upset when they were not around. Read the book and you will understand what I mean and it will absolutely change your life. There are several books that can change you course in life. “The Slight Edge” will change the way you think and act.

Leave a Reply

