Student Blog – Ector’s Blog

Violence

Do you think there is more violence now than there was in the 1930s? Why?

So in my blog post this is the question I wanted to ask. As I was reading the book Of Mice and Men, I noticed all the violence:

“If he coulda used his feet, Smitty says he woulda killed the nigger.”  “This Curley punk is gonna get hurt if he messes around with Lennie.” “Don’t let him sock me, George.”  “A shot sounded in the distance.  The men looked quickly at the old man.”  “He slashed at Lennie with his left, and then smashed down his nose with a right.”  “She struggled violently under his hands.”  “The crash of the shot rolled up the hills and rolled down again.  Lennie jarred, and then settled slowly forward to the sand, and he lay without quivering.”  These quotes from the book show violence in different forms.  It is obvious that there was a great deal of violence back then.

violence

We (M. Bouchard and I) asked a number of people for the opinion on that question. My favorite response was the following: “Unfortunately I believe there is more violence in our present day society. Back then it was more targeted toward race as an example, or at least between people who knew each other. Today we see so much random violence ie: Sandy Hook Elementary, movie theater shooting, decapitation on a bus etc. Today’s media along with help from many violent video games (not to mention drugs) seem to be desensitizing society to the point that people have much less respect for human life. How many tv programs are about crime or serial killers? And how many are being copycated in the real world? I believe another factor is the steady removal of God from people’s lives. If people believe there is nothing to live for after we die, what does it matter how they live this life or who they hurt to get what they want.” (Thanks to everyone who gave responses).

sandyhook

 

So what do you think? And why?

5 responses to “Student Blog – Ector’s Blog

  1. Wow! Great job! Buddy! I agree with you whole heartedly.

  2. Great post! Both random and targeted acts of violence are indeed reprehensible, but what really troubles me is how we often react to violence by using more violence. We say that we want a peaceful world and a peaceful community, but at the same time, we refuse to put an end to the cycle of violence.

  3. Paulette I. Vermette

    In today’s society, we are able to push a button or with the click of a mouse, have access to news in an instant. Violence is constantly being reported and it seems to be growing. We have to be hopeful that we can make a difference.

  4. Where is the LOVE?

  5. The sad thing about this post is that its true. I’d rather it not. Violence is targeted everywhere. No one can get away from it unless ye live in an isolated area. I had to move from Northern Ireland to Dublin cause of all of the violence. If ever I was to have babies of me own, I’d like them to live in a world with no violence. But sadly I don’t think I will have me own babies to live and grow up into a world with no violence. So we will just have to try and live with it and stay as far away from it as possible.

Leave a Reply

