“I Kill Jobs”

There is no doubt the world is changing!

From the book,  THAT USED TO BE US by Thomas L. Friedman, Michael Mandelnaum

P.151 (Chapter Title: Average is Over)

For all these reasons, the merger of globalization and the IT revolution has made average a dangerous place to be on the workplace spectrum, and one way or another everyone needs to find his or her “extra”.

No one has more bluntly summed up why average is over, and what it means for education, than John Jazwiec, who has headed a variety of technology start-ups, including RedPrairie and Five cubits. Blogging on his website, JohnJazwiec.com, he confessed:

“I am in the business of killing jobs. I kill jobs in three ways. I kill jobs when I sell, I kill jobs by killing competitors, and I kill jobs by focusing on internal productivity. All of the companies I have been a CEO of, through best-in-practice services and software, eliminate jobs. They eliminate jobs by automation, outsourcing, and efficiencies of process. The marketing is clear – less workers, more consistent output. I reckon in the last decade I have eliminated 100,000 jobs in the worldwide economy from the software and services my company sell. I know the number, because…my revenues…are based on the number of jobs I kill. I have killed many competitors. Again, I reckon I have eliminated over 100,000 jobs in the last decade. I know the number, because I know I have been in Large markets, and have ended up being one of two companies left standing, where there were many more when I took over. Finally, I have killed many internal employees. When I acquire a company, some of the “synergies” [involve] eliminating duplicate jobs. When I buy productivity software or outsource for lower labor costs, I kill internal jobs. Finally, companies that grow demand internal people to grow. They attract better job candidates. Growing companies kill internal jobs by economic darwinism. So there, I have said it, I am a serial job killer.”

He explained: “Any job that can be eliminated through technology or cheaper labor is by definition not coming back. The worker can come back. They most often come back by being underemployed. Others upgrade their skills and return to previous levels of compensation. But as a whole, the productivity gains over the last twenty years have changed the landscape of what is a sustainable job. What, then, is a sustainable job?” Jazwiec asks.

“The best way I can articulate what is a sustainable job is to tell you, as a job killer, [sustainable jobs are] jobs that I can’t kill. I can’t kill creative people. There is no productivity solution or outsourcing [strategy] that I can sell to eliminate a creative person. I can’t kill unique value creators. A unique value creator is, well, unique. They might be someone with a relationship with a client. They might be someone who is a great salesman. They might be someone who has spent so much time mastering a market that they are subject matter experts…”

Leave a Reply

